shs header picture

 Tri-Town News January 20th 2014 
2014 SCSAA Leadership Changes

SIDNEY - R. Douglas Sheldon ('59), Senior Vice President and Director, Columbia Artists Management LLC (CAMI), was elected President, Sidney Central School Alumni Association on Saturday, 18 January. Douglas, who has been SCSAA's Vice President for Operations and Acting President has provided leadership for the past year in the absence of Terry Dermody ('65) who suffered and is recovering from a serious stroke. Additionally, until Saturday he also served as Chairman of the Wall of Fame for Distinguished Alumni & Faculty, which he formally resigned from due to his election and responsibilities as President; and, an extremely busy work schedule, where he travels nearly 180 days per year, with much of that being international.

An accomplished and extraordinary SCHS graduate, Douglas has become one of the best known and most respected artist managers in the field of classical music, managing some of the world's preeminent artists and ensembles, and is known especially for his work with symphony orchestras. The New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, London Symphony, London Philharmonic, Orchestre National de France, Budapest Festival Orchestra, China Philharmonic, Shanghai Symphony and Vienna Symphony are a few of the orchestras he has represented. He has had extensive experience representing conductors, violinists, chamber orchestras and some of the greatest opera singers of the 20th century. He has taken the New York Philharmonic and Anne-Sophie Mutter to China and Japan on frequent tours and the Pittsburgh Symphony on a tour of China and Taiwan. His musical activities have taken him regularly around the world to Russia, China, Japan, Asia and Europe.

President Sheldon challenged the Board of Directors and Committees to focus, revitalize and place special emphasis in the areas of new ideas, membership, nominations, Reflections, and school and public relations during 2014.

Officers elected include: Dennis Porter ('66), VP - Operations; Jim McIntyre ('60), VP - Strategic Planning; Jon Jay DeTemple ('61), VP - Finance; Wayne King ('52), Treasurer; Anne Mott ('83), Assistant Treasurer; Amber (Wilson) Fogarty ('93), Recording Secretary; Deborah (Woytek) Puffer ('68), Corresponding Secretary.

Directors appointed for one year terms included: Bryan Innes, Jim McIntyre, Ray Taylor, Deborah Puffer, Dick Germond, Jon Jay DeTemple, Terry Dermody, Dennis Porter, Anne Mott, Anne Winnick, Tony Zieno and Kerri Greene.

Committee/chair appointments included: President's Advisory Committee: Jon Jay DeTemple ('61), Wayne King ('52), Jim McIntyre ('60), Dennis Porter ('66), and Terry Dermody ('65). Other chair appointments included: Amber Fogarty - Reunion; Strategic Planning - Jim McIntyre; Joe Hager -AVM Sub-Committee; Tony Zieno, Bryan Innes, Vicki Kulze - New Ideas; Paul Beames - Community Relations; Deborah Puffer - Membership; Dick Germond - Endowed Scholarship, Publicity and Nominating Committees; Anne (Plummer) Winnick - Reflections Editor; Dennis Porter - School Relations; Dennis Porter - Wall of Fame for Distinguished Alumni & Faculty; Ray Taylor - Website; Vicki Kulze - Historical/Alumni Center; and, Greg Davie - Sports Hall of Fame.

     Submitted 20 Jan 2014 by:
     Dick Germond
     (607) 643-8318

As Printed in the Tri-Town Newspaper